Long & Short Of It

Fame & Entitlement: Bad Combo

There’s nothing inherently wrong with becoming famous. Moreover, there’s nothing inherently wrong with acquiring fortune as a result of becoming famous. There does exist a really bad (in public eye) tempting low-hanging-fruit for the wealthy famous segment. Entitlement is it.

We’ve seen how adding fame and entitlement results in mega-subtraction. It can be ruinous. Buying children into very selective colleges/universities is a recent example of biting into the entitlement fruit. I could make the case it’s equally (or more) ugly when no money changes hands.

Earlier in life I worked part-time at a grocery store. My duties were diverse, and one of them was manning the courtesy counter. This is where I learned that when fame and entitlement blended together it was bad, really bad.

A famous (name withheld) NFL player who frequented the store on occasion approached me at the courtesy counter. This was during the glory years of check-writing, the likes of which we’ll never see again. The NFL player needed cash and fast. He held a two-party check made out to him and it was standard procedure to cash low-amount ones. Customer goodwill exceeded the risk of a bounced check. In this case the check was enormous. Problem ONE noted.

Before seeing the check size I asked the Pro Bowl all-star for his check cashing card (like a library card). As you might not be surprised he thought the idea of obtaining and carrying a card to cash checks was the dumbest idea ever. Problem TWO noted.

I was not famous. Across the counter was someone famous. I mustered the courage to deliver the news (“sorry but”) that would be unpopular (no dice). Fireworks ensued. I was called every name in the books. Also in the (now) public scene came these condescending entitlement words “are you such an idiot you don’t know who I am”. This came again/again like a scratched record. I was face to face with fame blended with entitlement. Thankful to this day I stood my ground. Many a shift I worked in that store in the weeks and months ahead, never to see him. Congrats to those achieving fame in their profession. Pox on someone who acquires fame and then demonstrates entitlement.