Long & Short Of It

Went To An Indie Bookstore

Three decades ago there were 4,000 independent (physical) bookstores in the USA, now the latest number (2019) is 2,500. I visited one today and drove home with my purchases reflecting on the shopping experience vis-a-vis internet book buying.

The bookstore was a short car drive away and close enough biking wouldā€™ve been an option. For much of the past pandemic-year my browse-then-buy experience today wouldnā€™t have been possible. Iā€™m saying this most likely because on the drive home I felt like an idiot. Iā€™ve been exclusively settling for couch buying of books since late 2019 (some consolation, like most everyone else). My time today picking up books, reading the inner jacket, glancing through them, and then noticing other books merchandised a few feet away...well it was pure joy.

Realistically half or more of my book buying going forward will be using the internet. However effective today Iā€™m challenging myself to get off the couch and visit independent bookstores in the coming year. Yes it probably is more time-consuming. Yes it probably is more expensive. But for the all-around feel-good factor, the bookstore visit today compensated for any and all deficiencies. As I checked out the person (cashier) said ā€œSomeone will sure enjoy these booksā€. Little did that person know before I reached my car I already did.